A lot more about me – part 1

I grew up on movie musicals from the 1940s and 1950s.  Some of my favorites are Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, On the Town, Three Little Words and Kiss Me Kate.  I always wanted to be Ann Miller because she was beautiful, could sing and had the most gorgeous costumes.  I adore Gene Kelly but my true love is Howard Keel.  Seven Brides is where I got my love of red hair, men that could sing and the name Hannah and I consider George Gershwin and Cole Porter to be music gods.

I adore theatre, especially musicals and my dream was to be on Broadway.  I lack the ability to sing so that dream didn’t happen but I did marry a man that could sing and loves theatre and musicals as much as I so it’s all fine.  Sunday in the Park with George, Miss Saigon, City of Angels and Wicked are some I could listen to over and over and I’ve been fortunate to visit NYC, the Kennedy Center and the National Theatre (DC) to get my fix.  Plays I enjoy are Harvey, Black Comedy, Angel Street and Rehearsal for Murder.  RFM holds a special place for me as that is where I worked with the man to whom I’m now married.

Speaking of my hubby, we actually met when I saw him in Once Upon a Matress; I was 16 and he was 24.  We first worked together in RFM (I was 17 and he was 25), but didn’t really get together until I was 22 and he was 29.  Together we’ve worked on 50 plays and 10 musicals both onstage (him), backstage (both) and under the stage (me).

I technically became a mom to my beautiful daughter in 1994 when I married her father, but I say it was when I first met her two years earlier.  Although technically I’m her step-mother I rarely refer to myself or her in that way since I’ve been part of her life since she was two years old.

In 2004 we added a sweet, loving, funny, imaginative son to our family of three.  As he was my first infant I didn’t know what to expect, what was normal, etc. but we learned together and continue to learn.

Leave a Reply

