Pediatric bipolar disorder – is this a secret mental illness?

Back in November 2013 I saw on the news the son of Senator Craig Deeds (VA) had stabbed his father multiple times and then killed himself.  I don’t remember exactly when I read his son suffered from bipolar disease, but I do remember my first thought was a completely selfish one because it was about my child and our struggle with pediatric bipolar disorder.

When The Boy was first diagnosed two years ago I searched the web for support groups, specifically blogs written by other parents who had children with pediatric bp, anything that would help us figure out the puzzle that is our child.  Our team of health professionals is great but I needed someone that could say, “We know exactly what you’re going through because we’re going through/have gone through the same thing and this is what helps(ed)” or lend a sympathetic shoulder for me to cry on when it felt like we were back to square one because, “I swear NOTHING we do seems to work!”

I’ve found some blogs but it’s not enough in my mind.  There are many, many blogs out there about kids with ADHD and autism but not pediatric bp.  This is why I titled this post the way I did.  I know I’m not the only parent who has a child with pediatric bp or, as it’s now classified under DSM-V, Disruptive Mood Dysregulation Disorder (DMDD).  I have no idea how many more families are out there but I want them to know I’m more than happy to lend a sympathetic ear because I know what you’re going through.

The two blogs that I’ve found are:

http://mysonhas2brains.blogspot.com/

http://caydeegirl.blogspot.com/

You can read more about the Deeds tragedy and Senator Deeds’ fight to change legislation in this link – http://www.usnews.com/news/blogs/washington-whispers/2014/03/31/creigh-deeds-tells-sons-mental-health-horror-story

2 thoughts on “Pediatric bipolar disorder – is this a secret mental illness?

  1. I don’t have a child that has been diagnosed. But I do know that my Mom struggled when I was young, especially once I hit puberty. But in my family mental illness wasn’t something that had ever really had a reason to be considered. I do know that I can look back now and tell you all kinds of things that make my believe I have struggled in some form with this for most of my life. I also know that I am now 33. Because my parents are amazing, specifically my Mom I contribute to society, I have some self control, although as not as much as I would like. And I learned so many things that many people who struggle with these things never learn because of the nature of their circumstances. I haven’t read but this one post. But I wanted to let you know that you are doing a GREAT job!! That simply being on board with helping your child anyway that you can goes a long way. That what you teach your child, while it may seem like it’s not working, will have an impact on his life. There are things he will know and will be able to deal with because you were willing and able to help him any way that you could. I know it may not seem like much, and while I have struggled most of my life, I couldn’t be more thankful for the things my Mom and Dad taught me even though I wasn’t labeled until my late teens. I’m not sure if I have helped or put you off here. But I just wanted to let you know to keep it up and know that you are making a difference even if it doesn’t feel like it. Be blessed!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

